The Guyana Diaries: Pt 9- Regrouping

With 3 days off for the Christmas holidays (and another 3 for New Years), I had some extra time to formulate a plan. Couple realisations hit me too; first, I’m out of extensions, so unless I can arrange a Work Permit before February, I’m out of time. Second, the costs of fully registering a business here (registration, tax certificate, bank account, etc, etc, etc.) would mean I wouldn’t have the funds to get home when my time expires. Not only that but my Passport expires in April as well.

I really do like cutting things fine!

After months of hustle and struggle, I’m better ‘in the know’ but I’m no further closer to achieving anything right now- especially on my salary! With the exception of the folks I live with here and their friends (I still have no regular social life of my own) I only make passing conversation with people I meet day to day. They’re happy to even drink with me, which is always a good thing in my books, and a few are happy to go out of their way to help me out.

I mentioned in my last post about possibly working on a farm, well that didn’t quite work out how I’d expected, I wouldn’t be getting paid anything until crops were ready to be sold a few months later, and I’d be starting from scratch. The same guy though, then went to talk with someone else about some work for me.

He came by only the other day, didn’t promise anything to me, just said he’d introduce me to the manager to talk- about the job itself, pay, hours and such- but it ended up feeling more like a general chit-chat and feeling me out… by the end of that night (around 10pm), well after he’d left, he had to come back to the house just to tell me I can start my new job as a Handyman at 7 the next morning! Not exactly much time to prepare but I’ve had worse.

Life has weird ways of testing us; sometimes with nothing happening for a while, others by making it all happen at once.

The next morning it was raining hard and I had to ride a bike to work, I wasn’t going to let it stop me, but I did arrive a little late. This didn’t seem to bother anyone though. I was introduced to one of the women working there who was going to show me what I was to be doing for the day. I assumed handyman would be some kind of role fixing things, changing lightbulbs, that kind of work. Instead, it’s more like being a janitor; my daily routine is sweeping and mopping the corridors, washing down the courtyard, taking out the garbage and then any other work I can do to make myself ‘handy’.

I’m not complaining though, it’s actually not a bad gig- and with simple labour work, my mind is free to concern itself with other things (like what do I want to do with my life). 

In the almost 6 months I’ve been here, I’ve worked more jobs than I’ve had in the last 6 years! Somewhere there’s a connection to it all, this is leading me somewhere… or that’s the feeling right now anyway, like they’re all dots and it’s up to me to connect them all somehow.

I’m gonna leave it at that before this turns into a deep ramble. Stay tuned to see what comes next. I know it’s gonna get interesting… but I can’t tell you when. 😉

Peace.

2 thoughts on “The Guyana Diaries: Pt 9- Regrouping

  1. The thing with Guyanese is that you can’t really trust most of them they’ll try to see how they can make a profit off of you so be careful with the jobs you take and the amount of money you get chances are you will be underpaid and when they say one thing it can mean something totally different..(Handyman=Janitor) btw I hope better things are in store for you 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the insight! I agree in many respects, previous work I’ve been massively underpaid already- at least now I get a normal salary. And the work is through safe contacts at least now (people I’ve known a while). But it’s been a very different experience from the beginning

      Like

Let me hear it.

