The Guyana Diaries: Pt 5- Just My Luck

I’ve realised this week that as much as I’ve adjusted to the way people talk out here, they don’t all understand me yet. A woman was walking past the flower shop while I was sitting outside the store and asked how much for a particular bunch of flowers, “They’re $800” I told her (about £3). “A hundred?” she asked me. “No, eight hundred”, I tell her again. “Yeh, a hundred”. I get the girl inside to tell her the price and the woman says to her, “You need english speaking people working here- me no understand he!”.

I don’t need to tell any of you what’s wrong with that English.

Also, my extension was officially put in my passport the other day- from the day it was issued I have 10 days remaining on it (They granted me 30!). That doesn’t leave me much time to arrange anything and since it took them an extra 4 weeks to sort out this extension, I don’t feel too confident going back and asking for the next one.

My new boss has a friend in some legal department that deals with these kinds of issues: visas, marriage certificates, that kind of thing. It’s good to know people that know people. He said if I apply with a work permit before my time expires it shouldn’t matter if I’m still here as the next application is already in- not sure how much I trust that either. My only other option is to leave the country and come back; get another 30days as a visitor and then apply for my work permit. Could mean I’m going to Suriname for a few days but this weekend coming is Independence Day and I remember how that went for me leaving Costa Rica.

My birthday was this week too. I went to work for the day (which wasn’t so bad considering 3 of my birthdays I didn’t even have a job), thought I’d be having a few beers after work with the guys I work with because the week before was another guy’s birthday and he brought a case of beer in but no. I asked but was told not to do it. They did give me 2 bottles of brandy though, which was nice. 

My old boss at the carwash said he’d take me out Saturday night instead for my birthday, there’s a bar I went to a few times in my last 2 trips that I’ve been wanting to get back to so that’s where we were going… and that didn’t happen either- good job I had the brandy then, I just didn’t quite mean to drink a whole bottle to myself though!

Sunday was going to be my day off- my second day off in the 2 months I’ve been here- except the guy now working at the washbay didn’t show up which meant I ended up working as a favour instead. I broke my flip flops at work so went barefoot for the majority of it (but going barefoot is a fairly normal thing here) and to top it off, my boss from the flower shop came by to ask if I could cover the store close to where I live for a few hours in the evening. End result: 13 hours of work on my day off. 

Should be nice when pay day comes but sometimes you just need time to recharge the batteries instead of making money.

Let me hear it.

