The Guyana Diaries: Pt 3- Settling In

I’ve got to say, I love my improv accommodation! Each night I climb into my hammock I get to look out at the stars as I drift off to sleep, then wake up to the Sun shining on me every morning… and a calf sleeping on the floor at one end. My guard dog!

It could be that I’ve been practising gratitude- as random as that may sound to some- but when I first arrived here and realised my situation, I felt lost. I was isolated in a foreign country, no real idea where I was or where to go, or even what I could do about anything. But every experience I’ve had here- good or bad- is because I was ripped off in the first place.

Somehow things always worked out in the end.

It was a struggle to begin with but I’ve learned how quickly I can adapt; once I realised I still had a meal to eat every day, or a place to sleep every night, I knew I was fine.

When you have nothing, it definitely makes you appreciate the things you get more and expressing your appreciation and gratitude, even for the simplest of things, apparently goes a very long way.

A guy I mentioned in my last post who was willing to arrange my work permit for me, came through and I’ll be starting with him soon… As a florist! I can’t say it’s a job or career path I’ve ever considered (or know anything about) but I’m doing whatever it takes to stay here a while and I’m generally just grateful for the opportunity and a new experience (more of that gratefulness :p).

It couldn’t have happened at a better time either- there’s a new boy at the Carwash and in just a few days he’s already caused too much trouble. Starting arguments with people, almost having a fight with some random kid passing by on a bike, even stole a guy’s phone from straight out of his car- I don’t want to be associated with that!

So what else has been going on? My new regular place to live came just in time for Divali. That was a great experience; so good I actually forgot about Halloween. There were floats (motorcades) that went along the road, all lit up with Indian music playing- people sitting on the front or top of the vehicles, or dancing along the middle of the bigger floats. As much as I felt a little out of place not understanding much about the culture or customs still, it really was amazing to be able to share in it with the people that took me in.

A few days after I got to experience some real Guyanese work too- proper manual labour! The boss told me that my shelter was getting concreted so I had a proper floor; that involved carrying wheelbarrows full of sand, bags of cement mix and buckets of water. Then mixing it all manually with a shovel as well and carrying barrows of cement to the places it was needed. It was so hot and that hard my sweat was sweating and my blisters got blisters (no joke!), I hadn’t done anything this physically exerting since I left the Army. It took almost all day and by the time we’d finished I ached in ways I’d forgotten were possible…

But it felt good!

That was until I woke up the next day and went to get out of my hammock, man did I hurt! But still no rest for the wicked, got to hustle until I break even. These last 6weeks I’ve found myself working security, gardening, doing housework, helping carry produce and setting up market stalls, the carwash and soon even working in a flower shop- that’s more work in 6 weeks than I had offered to me in 6 years in the UK.

And my first real day off is going to feel so good!

The GoFundMe Page I started is receiving donations already, almost 10% of the goal in its first day, which I was quite pleased with. Plans for what to do and what to write about after haven’t started yet but at least I know I can do things when I need to now.

I’ve taken a real interest in Indian food too. I don’t just mean curry (but I’ve eaten so much curry now), I’ve got to try things like snacks, deserts and sweets as well. They’re amazing. When I can remember what the things are called I’ll be letting you know. There’s going to be some cooking lessons coming up for me somewhere soon now.

You’ll have to keep tuning in to see how that may go wrong for me. Until next time 😉

2 thoughts on “The Guyana Diaries: Pt 3- Settling In

  1. Sounds like you are beginning to appreciate the smaller things in life .
    You don’t always have to have material things in your life , to be happy , a meal and some where to sleep . Thank God for the Good Samaritan xx

    Like

    1. It’s been a good experience, opened my eyes to a lot of things. Even in my current situation I’m still better off than a lot of people here. Puts things in perspective

      Like

Let me hear it.

