Review: Flying with Kiwi.com

To be perfectly honest, I’d never even heard of Kiwi.com before I booked my flight to Nicaragua with them. Having said that, after spending a few weeks shopping around already for cheap flights, at £306 they were by far one of the cheapest I’d seen to book with. Average prices were floating around the £400 region- that’s one way only- and journey time depending on your budget went from 13hrs up to a staggering 60! Surprisingly, some of the longer flights weren’t necessarily the cheapest either.

So what did my £306 get me exactly?

Good question, I’m glad you asked.

In terms of my baggage allowance, not very much (that’s budget for you though). One carry on item with max. dimensions of 40 x 35 x 20 cm and only 5kg. Plus one personal item 30 x 20 x 20 cm. When I checked the restrictions against Ryanair for my flight to Copenhagen they differed slightly at 55 x 40 x 20 cm with no weight restriction and the one personal item. My flight to America had an even larger allowance than that! So it pays to do a little research of your own.

Boarding in London

My backpack is a little bit larger and twice the weight of Kiwi.com’s allowances so I got in touch with them. It turns out that I’d need to check my carry-on bag as a suitcase, which the guy on the phone assured me was ok as it entitled me to take 15kg instead (despite the fact i physically can’t pack more in it) and would only set me back a further £107. So I checked this against Ryanair and their solution involves a £50 payment at the airport to put the item in the hold. Although my bag fits their carry-on restrictions, again, it pays to do a little research of your own.

The flights and route itself wasn’t so bad either: first flight out to Copenhagen from London Luton Airport with a 2.5hr layover before the connecting flight to Fort Lauderdale in Florida. Once in Florida it was another couple hours layover (some went upto 10hrs!) before my final plane to Nicaragua. Local time not too long after midnight when i landed.

Waiting for take off at Copenhagen

One thing that did stand out however, was that Kiwi.com will send you your tickets 24hrs before you depart and check in for you online (unless you want to pay to do it manually). Not a huge problem, I know, but I was away the night before so I had no opportunity to print anything off before I arrived in the airport. Where one connecting flight was the next day that ticket was sent the day after too. You can imagine how interesting it gets trying to board a plane without a boarding pass!

Flying over Iceland

I’m glad Americans have respect for their forces, both active service and veterans, one lady I spoke with at Hollywood International got me priority boarding after she learned I’m an HM Forces Veteran. I was actually really touched by that.

So in short, I made it accross the world still without any major issues but only by ignoring what the company had told me about weights, etc in the first place.

If you want cheap, no frills, you only get what you pay for kind of service, there ideal for sticking to a tight budget. If you like things like in-flight meals, or you take a lot away with you, probably better to go elsewhere.

I definitely got what I paid for but the end result of being here, I don’t think has a monetary value.

Let me hear it.

